Day 1: Buffalo Chicken Balls

Standard

I had to start things off easy. No need to shock my system with some crazy out of reach idea (like a whole four course meal) that would only serve to frustrate me and make me end this little blog project before it officially begins.

So, I chose to recreate a fairly simple recipe I found for Buffalo Chicken Balls with Blue Cheese.
(Click here for the original recipe link)

I knew hubby would be on board for this one, he really enjoys anything with the words “Buffalo Chicken” in it and the Blue Cheese was an added bonus for him (I hate the stuff) and since our son has the same eating habits as daddy I knew this wasn’t going to go to waste.

Chicken Ball Ingredients:

1lb of ground chicken (you could substitute this with any kind of ground meat I’m sure)
Butter (original recipe called for 4 tablespoons but I just eyed this stuff out)
1/2 cup of Frank’s Red Hot
1 tsp salt
1 stalk celery (diced)
1 egg
2 cup bread crumbs (original recipe only called for one, but stay with me…)

I’m not posting the ingredients to the blue cheese dressing because I cheated and just bought some. Can’t pull everything off from scratch on the first post 😉

Instructions: (If you want to be precise follow the original link!)

1. DICE CELERY
(This wasn’t the first instruction on the link and even though it called for diced celery I forgot to pre-dice it – which ended up setting everything back about 10 mins. So for all those other ditzy domestic divas I thought I should add this step.)

2. In a small pot melt butter and hot sauce and whisk together. Once butter is melted set the pot aside and let cool.
(It was recommended to do this on low heat, however I put it on the stove, cranked it and then left it for 10 mins because I forgot to dice the damn celery)

3. Grease whatever you want to use to bake them in.
(I just now while writing this post realized that the original link called for a 9×13 pan. I missed that completely and used a baking sheet)

4. In a bowl, combine chicken, salt, celery, egg, 1 cup of bread crumbs and hot sauce mixture. (Put the other cup of bread crumbs in a separate bowl)
Mix with hands until combined.

5. Roll the mixture into small packed balls.
(I know there’s a joke in here somewhere but I’ll leave it alone.)

6. Coat the meat balls with remaining bread crumbs
(I added in this whole coating business! BAM! I wanted them to be a bit crunchy)

7. Place the balls evenly in rows in whatever baking dish you decided to use.
(My mixture made about 22 balls)

8. Bake until the meatballs are firm and cooked through.
(The recipe said to cook for 20 mins, but I ended up doing almost 40. After 25 mins I flipped them to try and get them to bake evenly. It’s really hard to tell if they are cooked through because the colour of the chicken gets thrown off by the Frank’s. I certainly hope they were cooked through….)

9. Let em cool and serve em up with your dipping sauce of choice.
(Hubs had the blue cheese and I had ranch)

We had them with french fries (which I ended up burning in the toaster oven because I was too busy blogging about every step that I forgot I was even cooking a side dish.)

So this is the appealing and appetizing picture from the original blog:
buffalo chicken

And since I don’t have super awesome bright kitchen lighting, or cute dinnerware, or an amazing camera, or a knack for visual presentation – this is what our dinner looked like:

IMG_7650

On the bright side it tasted pretty damn good (minus the fries) and I finally somewhat successfully completed a pin!

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Buffalo Chicken Balls

Leave a Reply

