Day 4/5: Candle Recycling

Standard

So I totally copped out and missed yesterday.

Instead of tackling another domestic endeavour, I went Christmas shopping with my mom, ordered Chinese food for dinner, then had a few beverages and watched the hockey game with some friends.
I deserved a day of greed, gluttony and sloth. It’s pretty damn hard to keep this domestic diva stuff up.

So yesterday’s Black Friday sales inevitably lured me into Bath and Body Works. I have an addiction to that store and their sales were just too good to pass up.
Every time I pick up candles at that place I have to come home and sneak them into my linen closet like a freaking ninja. Hubby is a bit concerned that I’m a candle hoarder – I probably am – but I don’t need to hear about it every time I bring more home.
However after yesterday’s haul I realized that I do probably need to scale it down a bit. I have about 40 candles, half are brand new and half are in various states of use. I keep all of them regardless of how much is left. (that’s probably the hoarder part of me hubby likes to refer to)

I had pinned a pin ages ago about melting down old candles and making them into new ones with different layers of scents. I thought it was a genius idea, it just took me till today to actually get around to doing it.

Necessities: 

Candle Wicks (You can pick these up at any craft store)
A pot
An empty jar (or you can use the jar from the first candle you melt and continue on as you empty them)

Instructions:

1. Place the candle in the centre of the pot with a few inches of water. Heat the pan over medium heat until all the wax is melted. (I put it on high and waited for the water to boil before putting the candle in. I really don’t think it matters which way you do it.)

2. Once the wax is melted removed the jar from the pan (I did this with tongs and an oven mitt, careful not to drop or spill it. Wax isn’t the easiest thing to get off the counter, or the stove top, or tile grout, or knit sweaters…)

3. Wrap a new candle wick around a skewer, leaving enough length to reach the bottom of the jar. (The wicks I bought were short and had the little metal tabs at the bottom, which I think was a lot easier for me because I didn’t have to wrap anything around a skewer or trim anything. Just placed it in the middle of an empty jar and poured the first candle in)

These are the ones I bought:

wicks

4. While waiting, start melting the next candle in the pot. (I’m not very patient when it comes to anything so I stuck my candle in the fridge to harden quicker while melting the next one)

There is a good “tip” to insert here from the original blog: Choose candles with similar scents and complimentary colours to create the best candle.
(I just group all the seasonal scents together, I don’t get too creative)

5. Continue melting and layering the wax until the jar is full.

6. Cut the wick to about 1 inch about the last layer.

7. Wait for the last layer to cool and fully set. (I’m adding this step. I tried to move my first one after about 15 mins and the middle of the final layer wasn’t solid and it spilt EVERYWHERE. On my hand and sleeve, the stove and the floor. Not fun to have to clean up. The rest of my evening will now be spent trying to find out how to get wax out of tile grout and a knit sweater, otherwise I’ll be smelling like “White Barn Summer” for the next 10 years.)


I kept at it. About 3 hours and a bottle of wine later I had turned 15 old candles into 7 new ones.

candles

This is a genius idea, but really time consuming and excessively messy, or maybe I’m just too impatient and accident prone for this type of DIY. Despite all that, I’ll definitely be doing this again. I still (and always will) have leftover candles and I really love being able to reuse them.
It also frees up space in my linen closet to hoard new ones.

I am also now hoarding the empty lidded glass jars. They seem way too useful to me to throw out.

jars

***Update for all the other ditzy domestics***

To get wax off your glass top stove:
– Let it harden and scrape off what you can.
– Apply baby oil and rub until the residue is removed.
(Seriously baby oil is almost as good as Goo Gone for the sticky residue left behind by the candle wax and stickers. Who’d have thought?)
Then I just used a cloth with hot water to wash off the baby oil.

To get wax out of clothes:
Let cool, or freeze and then scrape out what you’re able to.
Take paper towels and place on each side of the fabric.
Place iron over paper towel to heat up the wax.
(I haven’t attempted this yet, but the paper towel is supposed to blot up the excess wax as it melts. I hope it works. I just bought this goddamn sweater yesterday!)

I’m still looking for ideas on how to get wax out of grout…

2 thoughts on “Day 4/5: Candle Recycling

  1. Mom

    With those wicks a little hot glue on the bottom will help them stay in place when you pour your melted wax. And the reason to heat the water slowly is so your glass jars won’t break.

Leave a Reply

