Day 6: Turkey Burgers

Standard

In all honesty I didn’t really feel like doing a pin today. I had picked this one out this morning – when I had more energy – now that it’s dinnertime, I’d rather curl up on the couch and enjoy another night of takeout. However, that would leave me with another blank blog post and we can’t have that.
I know how lazy I am, I don’t need everyone else to know either.

I chose these Turkey Burgers because all I had for meat in the freezer was ground turkey, they didn’t seem too hard, and again, I try to choose recipes where I already have most of the ingredients.

Ingredients:

2 tbsp of butter (or canola oil)
1/2 C finely chopped celery
3 Granny Smith Apples, peeled and diced (I only used one and didn’t bother peeling it)
1/4 cup thinly sliced green onions
4 lbs ground turkey meat  (I only had 1 lb of ground meat, so I’m trying to tweak where I can to account for that, but my past experiences have me doubting my abilities…)
2 tbsp salt (I didn’t have any normal salt because I used all I had in my cupboard for my salt dough ornaments, so I just used ground rock sea salt)
1 tbsp pepper
2 tsp tabasco sauce (I used Franks RedHot Xtra Hot)
1 lemon juiced and zested (I didn’t have an actual lemon, just a bottle of lemon juice)
1/2 bunch parsely, chopped (I never have this stuff on hand so I just omitted it)
1/4 cup Major Grey’s Chutney (Didn’t have this either, instead I used peach jam…not sure how that’ll turn out)

Instructions:

1. Dice the celery, apple and green onions. (I need to add this step, I always forget to do the prep stuff for some reason)

2. Sauté the celery, apples and green onions in butter till tender. Let cool. (I accidentally ended up browning everything. I didn’t exactly let things cool either, but my meat was still half frozen so I figured they would cancel each other out. In hindsight, I really shouldn’t keep trying to write the posts as I’m actually trying to do the cooking or crafting. There’s too much of an opportunity for mishap)

3. Place the ground turkey in a large bowl and add the sauteed items and remaining ingredients. (I added about a cup of breadcrumbs to try and bind the meat a little better even though the recipe didn’t call for it. I also forgot the hot sauce until after I made the meat mix into patties. So I had to scrap them all, add the sauce, and redo them)

4. Refrigerate for 2 hours (Now I don’t know exactly how important this step is. The recipe says it’s pretty imperative to get the mix to firm up. However I neglected to read this step when I chose the pin. So now, because I left things till 7:00 to start, I don’t have time for that. I put them in the freezer for 20 mins instead…)

5. Season the turkey burgers with salt and pepper. (I added the S&P to the mix because that’s what I thought you were supposed to do when it said “add remaining ingredients”. Since it’s not super clear on that, I didn’t add any more. I learned about how terrible over-seasoning is when you don’t have enough meat, from my balsamic chicken fail)

6. Place on preheated, lightly oiled grill. Grill each side for 7 mins until meat is thoroughly cooked. (This is where my hubby comes in, the grill is his domain. I did give him specific instructions, but if this really goes sideways I’ll just blame him and his grilling techniques)

7. Let sit for 5 mins and serve on your favourite toasted bread, pita or hamburger bun, with your  chosen toppings. (We put ours on toasted hamburger buns. I topped mine with brie cheese, hubby went with marble, and we both had barbecue sauce) 

Honestly when I started dinner tonight I thought for sure we’d have to toss it and end up ordering out again. I was expecting the worst since there were a couple ingredients I omitted, my math on tweaking ingredients for the amount of meat I have doesn’t usually work out for me, and I didn’t follow the instructions to a T, but these were surprisingly delicious!
I’d attempt these again. Hubby really liked them too, but he wasn’t the biggest fan of the celery, so either I’d try to dice it a little more or just leave it out next time. (I enjoyed it for the added crunchy texture)

Here’s the beautiful burger from the original blog post:
ImageAnd here’s mine: (I could’ve sworn it was in focus when I took the picture…)

Image
I’m really glad this one didn’t end up as a complete fail and that it was actually edible, otherwise I’d never hear the end of it from my smart-ass spouse.

Now…where’s that damn wine.

Leave a Reply

